An international scholarly online history journal on First and Second Empire subjects: articles, bibliographies, book reviews, in english and in french


The Fondation Napoléon is a registered charity committed to the encouragement of
the study of and interest in the history of the First and Second Empires,
and the preservation of Napoleonic heritage.

anglegauche angledroit


Digest of the statutes of the Fondation NapolÉon

The aim of the Fondation Napoléon is the encouragement of the study of and interest in all that concerns Napoleonic history and in a general way all activities directly or indirectly linked with that aim. Its means of operation are as follows: bulletins, publications, monographs, lectures and courses, prizes and awards, study trips, grants and financial assistance to associations and organisations with parallel interests, notably the association du Souvenir Napoléonien, etc.

The Fondation is run by a board of trustees comprising 12 members:

  • Four members designated by the Souvenir
  • Four ex officio members : the President of the Souvenir Napoléonien, a representative of the Ministry of the Interior, two representatives of the Ministry of Culture.
  • Four members co-opted by previous members.

The members of the board and the ex-officio members are appointed for six years, half of which change every four years.

The Director is member with consultative vote.

As of 3 July 2012, the Fondation Napoléon will be located in its new offices at:

7 rue Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire
75005 Paris

The Board of Trustees (March 6, 2013)

M. V.-A. Masséna, Prince d'Essling © Krishka
M. V.-A. Masséna, Prince d'Essling
president of the Fondation Napoléon

Honorary President
Baron Gourgaud (Former President 1987-2005) †

V.-A. Masséna, Prince d’Essling

Olivier Fouquet
Section President at the Conseil d'Etat

Alain Pigeard
President of the Souvenir Napoléonien

Comte Nicolas Walewski

Jacques Macé
Representing the Souvenir Napoléonien

Philippe Belaval, Conseiller d’Etat,
Directeur général des Patrimoines
Representing the Ministry of Culture

General Robert Bresse
Ex-Director of the Musée de l'Armée, Paris (2003-2011)

Guy Carrieu
Representing the Souvenir Napoléonien

Nicolas Georges
Directeur du Livre et de la Lecture
Representing the Ministry of Culture

Jean-Michel Mehnert
Préfet honoraire
Representing the Interior Ministry

Gérard Moyaux
Representing the Souvenir Napoléonien

Doctor Jacques Palombo
Representing the Souvenir Napoléonien

Administration (May 23, 2014)

Thierry Lentz © Krishka
Thierry Lentz
Director of the Fondation Napoléon
Thierry Lentz
Diplômé de Droit et d'Etudes politiques

Alexandra Mongin
Secretary to the Director

Brigitte Claré
Email :

Capital, Collection and Real Estate
Pierre Branda © Krishka
Pierre Branda
Section Head, Capital, Collection and Real Estate
Pierre Branda
Section head
Diplômé en sciences économiques
Chargé de mission for the Director

Élodie Lefort
In charge of the collection
Master de recherche Histoire, Société et Culture (Université Rennes 2), Master professionnel Gestion des patrimoines architecturaux et artistiques (Université Bretagne occidentale, Quimper)

Documentation, Public Relations and IT
Irene Delage © Krishka
Irène Delage,
Section Head, Documentation
Irène Delage
Section head
DEA (=MPhil) in Contemporary History, Université Bordeaux III-Michel Montaigne, diploma INTD

Chantal Prévot
In charge of the library, the Bibliothèque M. Lapeyre-Fondation Napoléon
Maîtrise in Archaeology, CAFB diploma and ADBS certificates

Prof. Peter Hicks
Historian and International Relations Manager
PhD Cantab., Visiting Professor, University of Bath

Marie De Bruchard
Web editor
MA in History

Rebecca Young
Web editor
BA in Art History, University College London

Project for the Publication of the Correspondence of Napoleon Bonaparte
François Houdecek
Project manager
Maîtrise in History, BA in Archaeology



Back to the homepage

Back to the section homepage


Annual Financial Statement


Top of the page

Bulletin | My | Site Map | Contact us | Add to your favourites | Legal | ISSN 2272-1800