Château de Compiègne. Salon des Fleurs

Share it

The wall decoration was executed by the workshop of Dubois and Redouté in 1809 and 1814. Eight paintings of flower compositions, after celebrated studies of lilies by Pierre-Joseph Redouté (1759-1840), were added in 1810. The furniture, all by Jacob-Desmalter, is covered in Gobelins tapestry. During the Second Empire, the room was used as the Prince impérial's chamber; indeed he scratched the date “4 décembre 1868” into the marble table.

Compiègne Itinerary

Date :
Restored state: Second Empire
Place held :
Compiègne, musée national du château
Photo credit :
Share it