A close-up on: the Treaty of Vienna, 14 October, 1809

Following the armistice declared at Znaïm in July, 1809, the Treaty of Vienna (also known as the Treaty of Schönbrunn) formally brought to a close the Franco-Austrian war of 1809, and with it the War of the Fifth Coalition. Signed on 14 October, 1809, and ratified by Napoleon the following day, the treaty finally saw an end to months of discussions and Austrian feet-dragging.